5 Votes


  • Synonym 化物語
  • Source Blu-ray
  • Release ANE
  • Encoder Serkenburg
  • Year 2009
  • Status Completed
  • Type TV Series, 12 episodes
  • Rating R - 17+ (violence & profanity)
  • AniDB Entry a6327


* Based on a series of light novels written by Nishio Ishin and illustrated by Vofan.

Araragi Koyomi is a third year high school student who is almost human again after having briefly become a vampire. One day, a classmate named Senjougahara Hitagi, who infamously never talks to anyone, falls down the stairs into Koyomi's arms. He discovers that Hitagi weighs next to nothing, in defiance of physics and common sense alike. Despite being threatened by her, Koyomi offers her help, and introduces her to Oshino Meme, a middle-aged homeless man who helped him stop being a vampire.

Note: Episodes 13-15 (Tsubasa Cat parts 3-5) never received a TV broadcast, but instead were streamed online on the anime's official website.