Princess Tutu

Princess Tutu
1 Vote


  • Synonym プリンセスチュチュ
  • Source DVD
  • Release Ahiru
  • Encoder Banchou
  • Year 2003
  • Status Completed
  • Type TV Series, 38 episodes
  • Rating PG-13 - Teens 13 or older
  • AniDB Entry a516


* An original anime project based on a story planned by Itou Ikuko.

Kinkan-chou is a circular shaped town surrounded by castle walls. With its calm scenery including a park, a theatre, lines of shops, it looks as if just any ordinary town... but its slightly unusual? The people who live there are all nice, but they are including cats, crocodiles, all of which can speak!

In this town, there is a large performing arts school, Kinkan-gakuen, where a girl named Ahiru learns ballet. She is a little clumsy but tries as hard as anyone else, and is always scolded and made fun of but also loved by her friends, Pike and Ririe.

Ahiru has an upperclassman, a boy whom she is fond of, Mytho. He is very good at dancing, not so talkative, but handsome; he is Ahiru's Prince. However, Ahiru feels Mytho's eyes look lonely. Just once, she would love to see her Prince smile! With those wishes in mind, she continues to work hard with her ballet lessons. But Mytho has a very beautiful, smart girlfriend, Rue, who is even better than him at dance. To think that someone like herself would be able to dance with Mytho is just a dream in another dream. Will Ahiru be able to become a Princess and dance with her Prince?

Note: Princess Tutu was originally broadcast in two seasons. The first season (called "Kapitel des Eies" - "Chapter of the Egg") consisted of 13 half-hour episodes, while The second season - called "Kapitel des Junges" ("Chapter of the Chick") in R2 DVDs and "Kapital (sic) des Küken" ("Chapter of the Fledgling") in R1 DVDs) - was broadcast as 26 quarter-hour episodes, to conform to the format of the time slot, so that each episode was split into two parts. These were brought back together in the DVD release as 13 complete episodes.

Note 2: This title is using the historical town Nördlingen in Bavaria, Germany, as a model for the storyline.

Episode List (26 items)